Pre-Shade, Washing and Weathering - What to use for panel detailing

C

Cooperman69

Hi,

I keep seeing reference to all the above names but I'm really getting confused as to what effect I'm after?

I'm a complete novice when it comes to this art and basically what I'm looking to do is highlight the panel lines on a model. I don't want to go down the road of making the model look used, not just yet, but I do want to highlight the detail.

A local friendly model store did take the time to show me how to pre-shade by spraying the panel lines and blend it out with the top coat, but can I get the same effect with washes like Florry and is it an easier option?

Also if I was to use Florry when exactly do I apply it, i.e. after I've applied the decals but before I cover them with Klear?

As you can see I'm a bit confused so please, any help gratefully accepted.

Thanks, Colin.

First Name
Dave
Have a look on You Tube.If you do a search for 'florymodels on there you will find a series of videos on how to do washes and other techniques.

C

Cooperman69

Thanks Dave, just had a look on there and some really useful videos of the product being applied.

Looks that straight forward that I might even attempt it. I was a bit daunted after looking at some of the images in the magazines.

Am I right in guessing then that pre-shade, post-shade and washes are all different ways of getting to the same result, basically panel detail. Whereas weathering by using washes or fading panels with an airbrush, your looking at ageing the model?

M

munkster