Sd.Kfz. 251/1 Ausf.c Half track interior colour

P

phill burrows

Hi

I am just starting out on a Tamiya Sd.Kfz. 251/1 Ausf.c.

I have never made anything other than aircraft before now, but wanted a new challenge.

Can anyone suggest a colour for the interior of the half track? I am going to go for the German Grey colour scheme, but am unsure if this would have been used inside also. I can't find much reference material.

Also, when building this, would you fit the whole thing together before spraying inside, or spray in the internal parts before gluing together?

many thanks

pb

R

rjwood_uk

generally you would paint the interior first as well as all the small external parts. put it all togeather. mask off the bits you dont want the outsite colour to go on (tracks/wheels/interior...etc) paint it, let it dry. stick all the final little bits on and hey presto.

A

alan2525

Here's a very thorough account of the colours used for the interiors of German Panzers:

http://miniatures.de/html/int/camouflage-german-panzer-interior.html

There's an example at Bovington Tank Museum, the interior is actually Painted Ivory, Pale Beige - apparently RAL 1001 with Grey green floor (very similar to outside grey of vehicle) The stowage containers are all grey as per the outside and any equipment parts are semi gloss black. Appologies fot the quality of the pic but I was poking my camera against the view slit in the rear door - I just knew someone on this forum would want to know what it looked like inside!

sdkfz531zl4.jpg

Here's a link to some images of the outside of the same vehicle:

http://ampsnz.hobbyvista.com/realafvs/WWII/German/SPWs/sdkfz251/Bov251c.htm

I would have thought that the Sdkfz 251 being open topped would have been painted the same colour inside as the exterior of the vehicle. It'd be nice if you could try to keep more of a factory look to the inside of the hull, just weathering the flooring and the outsides of the vehicle.

P

phill burrows

Hi Alan