Soldering Photo-Etch

Jon Heptonstall

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jon
Hello all.
I want to get a basic soldering outfit for larger PE assemblies.I've never done any soldering before.Does anybody have any recommendations and/or useful tips?
Thanks.
Jon.

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Antex irons are best in my opinion. I would also use Carr’s 145 degrees solder and a liquid flux. Stay away from electrical cored solder, that will just make the job hard. You will also need a glass fibre scratch brush to clean surfaces before soldering. Cleanliness is next to godliness in this case. Look at the Carr’s site for information. They are the premier modelling solder suppliers in the UK.

Jon Heptonstall

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jon
Cheers Tim.
At least I've got a glass fibre pen so that's a start.
Jon.

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
And practice on scrap bits of brass before trying the kit parts :smiling3:

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Sorry Jon, I was pushed for time earlier.
This is the Carr’s site
This is the solder
...and this is the flux...put it on with an old paintbrush.

The best irons are these, in my opinion....

Obviously look around for best prices.
To clean down afterwards I found cheap cream cleaner and an old toothbrush or stiff brush was best.

If you need more just ask
Cheers
Tim

Jon Heptonstall

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jon
Thanks a lot Tim
very useful info.I'll get cracking and let you know.
jakko- lots of brass cut offs to practice on!
Jon

D

Deleted member 7181

I'd definitely suggest practice too.

I bought the exact same products (Tim has recommended them before) and still haven't managed to stick two pieces together yet.

I've given it up as a bad job for now and gone back to glue. Will try again some other time.

stillp

SMF Supporter
First Name
Pete