Spray Booth

N

Neill

Hi

I will try and explain this as best I can so bear with me... I need a spray booth for indoor airbrushing. I have seen ones on Ebay for £70 and after checking I think they remove particles only (recirculating air out the back of the unit) and not fumes as it has no exhaust vent that can be placed through a window. As far as I can gather these units don't have carbon filters as these units are considerably more than £70. The Airbrush Company have one for £150 and it has the exhaust vent as mentioned above. I have bought a cheapish respirator from a model shop on Ebay for about £8 so I presume this would deal with the fumes side of it. I am stretched for money at the moment so I could just about afford the £70 booth. Should I wait and save up for the dearer unit or get the £70 booth? This is a bit of a stupid question and I am new to the hobby but when I use enamelwhen I paint by hand or I am gluing I have noticed that there is a strong smell about so do I have to wear my respirator whilst working in my living room. My girlfriend will wonder what she has let herself in for!!! Thanks in advance for any advice provided.

Neill

F

Fenlander

My personal suggestion is that if it does not exhaust through a pipe, like a tumble dryer pipe, stuck through a window, it aint going to do much. Good extractors are expensive and there is a reason for it. One, they work and two, they use electrical components that do not spark which could ignite that thinners in some paints.

Only really good and cheaper way is to make one yourself using a basic cooker hood extractor as a start but it has to pump the stuff outside or it just circulates the fumes around the room.

As I said, just my opinion, maybe someone will offer other suggestions.

R

Richy C