Summer 2011 GB Do217N2

T

treyzx10r

Starting with a Revell Do217E-4

and the Koster bits

a nice 3 view

and heres the photo

I know theres not a lot going on in the photo but its the only pic I could find of the subject my apologies for that. Hopefully the build itself will make up for it. I'm also going to throw this disclaimer out so I have an excuse for any misadventures during the build,this is my first attempt at anything vacuum formed . I'm off to wash my parts hope to have some pics up later of the start wish me luck!

tr1ckey66

SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
Hi Trey

That looks like a nice challenge and I've every confidence that you will produce an absolutely fabulous model from it. Vac form parts are a challenge. I've built several MiniArt buildings in the past which are vac formed but these really don't require the precision fit of an aircraft skin so, I can imagine the difficulties involved. But then again if you don't have a go you wouldn't learn anything new! Your bravery in sharing your experience though has got to be applauded.

I for one though think you've got all the talent to finish this brilliantly and I look foward to the results.

Best of luck mate

Paul

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
ooo i've been waiting for this build Trey. Watching with massive interest now :smiling3:

T

treyzx10r

Paul thanks for the vote of confidence .I must admit I'm a bit out of my comfort zone but your words of encouragement sure help thanks!

Allyne hope I do'nt dissapoint ya

I started with the office as usual but the vac parts are a new twist for sure. The replacement nose is of course vac formed so some care and a fresh blade were a must

Test fitting and retest fitting sanding here and there to get a good fit

The Koster kit requires cutting a part of the fuse away,seems to me it could've been left the other way around but that would have left off the spent shell ejector ports in the vacum formed part so I do get why they did it that way.