Super thin CA glue - what's your preference

adt70hk

I know its a bit sad but I like quickbuild kits!!!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrew
Hi all

I need to invest in some super thin CA glue and wondered if any of you have any recommendations? Obviously lots of it around but I want to invest in something that comes recommended.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

ATB

Andrew

Steve Jones

Steve Jones Scale Modelling Site
First Name
Steve
I use Vitalbond Andy. Its cheap as chips and sets in seconds. This is becasue I dry fit the item I want glued. Then while holding it in place I add a drop of glue and then it sets in seconds and off you go - carrying on building. However if you add a drop to a Pringles lid it stays wet for about an hour enabling you to do a variety of jobs which can be quite handy

Si Benson

SMF Supporter
First Name
Si
Hi Andrew,

I think we all have our own favourite when it comes to CA and glues generally.
Im no expert when it comes to CA but I currently have two types....

Funny thing is that the MiG AMMO slow dry, dries quickly where as the rocket stuff is thicker and slower to set.

B9DA2DBE-F0D5-4D39-A34A-2A6B46E8C42B.jpeg

Like Mr Jones says, a drop of CA on a plastic lid will normal stay useable for about 20-30mins. I use the plastic lids from the milk containers and a cocktail stick to apply it.
2E2E7B7C-D94C-4AB5-9516-ADB711F6A325.jpeg

Scottie is our resident bling master but I think he uses black magic and voodoo to attach his PE bits :smiling5:

I have my eye on this stuff next time I run out.

I’m sure others will recommend others types.
hth

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Hi Andrew
I like the stuff which is in Si's video. It is thin so flows well into joints and has a slightly longer setting time than most thin CAs. Available from the Scale Model Shop HERE
Jim

adt70hk

I know its a bit sad but I like quickbuild kits!!!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrew
Hi all