Suzuki GSX 750 F

M

myownpetard

Hello All

I'm a newbie to this forum though I've been making models longer than I care to admit.

I have some questions and would welcome some advice, but first some context.

Two French friends have been wonderfully helpful to me and I would so like to repay their kindness in some way. They dote on their motorcycle, which is a maroon Suzuki GSX 750F and I would love to present them with a scale model of it. I've never made a motorcycle kit before and just assumed that I would be able to buy a kit of something not too distantly related which I could convert and customise accordingly. Living near Limoges I have access to a good model shop but was shocked to see how few motorcycle kits there appeared to be, especially alongside the vast ranks of models of Tiger tanks. (I have the feeling that if someone were to discover in an archive somewhere a beer mat on which a German engineer had scribbled plans for a Tiger with an en-suite bathroom, a main stream plastic model company would rush one into production and the aftermarket industry would soon offer me a choice of western or eastern front toilet paper!). Anyway, an internet search confirmed that there was little available.

Is anybody aware of a kit which might be sufficiently related to make conversion possible? If not are there any companies you know of, large or small, that might produce the sort of resin/photoetch/etc parts that might allow me to build one? I know that there are many aftermarket producers of military, naval and aviation accessories, but until now the world of motorcycles has been closed to me.

Thank you

Best wishes

Nigel

M

m1ks

Hi and welcome.

Unfortunately I think you'll struggle, the closest you'll likely get is a gsx-r, and at that a more modern wsb or bsb version.

It's always baffled me how certain models of bike never got made into kits and others did.