Tamiya 1/12 Moto Guzzi Centauro

B

Bari

Having come to a total stop (lack of interest) with my Phantom build I thought I would have a go at a bike to see if I could get the juices flowing again. I have never done one of these before, nor have I done a Tamiya kit. The kit seems to be very well thought out and so far everything fits. I though the best way to tackle it would be to do sub assemblies, then paint, then assemble. Very impressed with the little pack of screws and screwdriver to put everything together, it even comes with a little spring for the suspension. I meant to take a few more photos during the construction but before I knew it it had fallen together. This is the progress so far. Any hints/tips or criticism is most welcome especially in the matter of the chrome parts. Do I bleach all the chrome off and try and repaint, especially the exhaust. I'm not sure it will look right just gluing the parts together as I think the seam will show. It might end up with a mat black exhaust and aftermarket carbon fibre cans.

View attachment 98906

View attachment 98907

View attachment 98908

View attachment 98909

View attachment 98910

View attachment 98911

View attachment 98912

View attachment 98913

View attachment 98914

View attachment 98915

01.JPG

02.JPG

03.JPG

04.JPG

05.JPG

06.JPG

07.JPG

09.JPG

010.JPG

012.JPG

PaulTRose

Dazed and confused
SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
cant go wrong with a tamiya bike kit

best advice i can give to the exhaust is carefully put it together, sometimes they go together ok and you can hardly see the seam.......if you done like it then bleach it and either spray it black or even better get a rattle can of humbrol chrome cos that does work surprisingly well

takeslousyphotos

No Tears Please. It's a Waste of Good Suffering.
First Name
Peter
Hi Barry ......... good start ....... The Tamiya bike kits are really well thought out and a pleasure to build. I've built several of them.