Tamiya 1/12 Yamaha YZR-M1 ‘04 (Rossi/Abe)

First Name
Lachlan
I bought this kit a couple of years back from eBay. I can’t tell if it’s rare or not as I see some for £25-30 and then some for upwards of £75. I haven’t got an airbrush or compressor, no paint, nothing. Complete beginner. What should be on my shopping list? Clear gloss for that metallic shine? Any tips/tricks? I’m quite nervy about doing this as my first, as this is definitely my favour year of the Rossi M1’s. Anyone done it before? Cheers!

Attachments

• 691646F1-C7AC-4F3E-AE95-162D6C9F57AF.jpeg
    691646F1-C7AC-4F3E-AE95-162D6C9F57AF.jpeg
    43.4 KB · Views: 5

PaulTRose

Dazed and confused
SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
well since youre a Rossi fan (like me :thumb2: ) i wouldnt want to feck this up as my first build...its a lovely kit aparently...try something else to practice on

if you dont want to get an airbrush yet its is possible to do it all with rattle cans.....i once did a cbr400 entirely with rattle cans just to prove to myself it could be done (apart from the tail/indicator lens)....had a kit with no decals that was perfect test mule......i think you could do it with about 5 different cans.....primer, matt black, blue, steel, aluminium and clear coat.....basic but it would work.......need practice with the cans though....and its a bit cold here to do it outside and im a 160 miles south of you!

First Name
Lachlan
Thanks for the reply, beowulf!

I reckon that getting an airbrush would be the best thing to do. Unfortunately I live in a shared flat, and don’t have access to a shed or anything like that. I suppose I could get something like a box for painting in with an extractor at the back?

Is the Honda you mentioned a Tamiya kit? I may have to have a nosey on eBay...

Frost everywhere this morning, Edinburgh is gearing up for Xmas!

PaulTRose

Dazed and confused
SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul