Tamiya - Daimler Dingo MkII - 1/35 (1972)

dalej2014

SMF Supporter
First Name
Dale
My first build in several decades! If you've come expecting a masterpiece, you may have wandered into the wrong thread!
This will be (mostly) a straight out of the box build. I'm weaning myself back into modelling gently, having been away many years. This is my first build thread, so forgive me if it seems patronising. That's not intended. This is an "aide memoir" for me, with any issues, and solutions. I'm kind of thinking out loud. Enough, onward!

Before I begin I assemble all the bits and bobs I'll need (I think!):
IMG_20210807_121633576.jpg

I don't have a workbench, so am building on my living room table. I do have a daylight lamp, used throughout. Having checked all the sprues for missing parts etc. I'm good to go. I did find I was missing the instructions for this kit. Fortunately Scalemates to the rescue!. I have pre-painted a few parts that will build up the interior (much easier to do that on the sprue first).

As an interesting aside, and a "blast from the past", check out the price of the kit - 99 pence! My dad (RIP) bought this kit from a local shop, probably on release, and it's sat nearly half a century waiting to be built. I had to look, and in today's money that's about £11.50. I found a similar (same?) kit on Amazon for about £15. There are a few of these original boxes for sale online, ranging from 28 euro to about £45!
IMG_20210807_121739603.jpg

Anyway, I digress. Next I set up my cutting/painting mat (don't want to ruin the table!), and get started. I use some decent "snips" to remove parts from their sprues (being careful not to "ping" any tiny ones!

Here you can see the "bench" ready to go. The bottle of cement is blue tacked to the cutting mat, to avoid any disastrous mishaps:
IMG_20210807_123231666.jpg