Tamiya Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Special Colour Edition

M

mattm

Hi guys,

Im new to this site, Ive just started to build the Ninja ZX-14, first problem ive encountered is the TS-39 Mica Red spray looks nothing like the colour on the box or the cap of the can, its way too bright, has anyone else found this?

Secondly I purchased the Hobby Design chain set, and am having some difficulty with how to assemble it, this is my first time working with PE parts, any advice?

Cheers.View attachment 27571View attachment 27572

View attachment 33410

View attachment 33411

micaredpaint.jpg

hobbydesignchain.jpg

M

m1ks

Re the colour, are you spraying over a primer coat or straight to bare plastic, the tamiya kits are typically cast in a colour akin to the finished box art example and the base colour will have an effect on the top colour, priming gives a completely even base with which to work.

Also the colour may be slightly different anyway, and will certainly look different in different light sources, natural daylight vs energy saving light bulbs, vs ordinary tungsten bulbs vs flourescent tubes and so on and so forth.

If you want a close as possible colour match try zero paints, they do a matched colour set for models but you'll need an airbrush, (unless anyone knows if they do aerosols?)

Re the PE chain set, if there are not adequate instructions with it try doing a youtube how to search, you cna find some really handy stuff on there, i've not done one myself so can't really help with that one

M

mattm

Mica red spray is being sprayed over tamiya White primer. Sprue colour is also White.

Never thought about YouTube so will have a look on there. Cheers.

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Red paint I cant help much with. PE: That I can do. I have never done a bike chain before but the principles are the same.