Tm'osdell HO scale garden railway

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
Time to share my control panel and DC wire madness Connection plugs for control panel.jpgDC wire madless.jpg my control panel.jpgPlug and play.jpg

First pic the block wire strips where control panel connects to the layout , pic two in underneath the same module the DC wire madness, which I plan to improve, pic three my pride and joy my control panel. Chris I used a drill vice to drill the holes, the only way I could get to be straight , took a week to drill,

The Led lights indicate each throttle, three throttles on a 4 way rotary switch, forth light is spare, a friend offered to do the wiring thanks to him it works, I made the panel, 20 blocks all up, will get all used up, I have two remote throttles form the main line so I can follow the train around.

Lucky last is the speaker plugs I use between each module to plug up very easy plug and play, now the fun begins working on the modules tomorrow .

Tony from down under
 

minitnkr

Rabble & escape committee member
SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 27, 2018
Messages
3,148
Points
113
First Name
Paul
Some friends are priceless. Beautiful work. My Calif. layout, I had an apprentice volunteer to help w/wiring. Couldn't have done it w/o him. Have you thought of native plantings and real rocks as scenery? PaulE
 

monica

“When there's no more room in hell, the dead will
SMF Supporter
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Messages
13,041
Points
113
Location
Melbourne
First Name
monica
HI Monica, I have another idea, using aluminium foil and put the chux super wipes cloth over that and spray with the clear stain or varnish, when dries will hopefully mould to the shape,fingers crossed, if works b a good cheap way of scenery, I could fine where there is rock cutting at the side of the road and do the same idea, what do you think.

Thanks for the kind work, in some ways I like the tiger too,, did the Germans have a super Tiger came in too late to do anything., I like tanks too especially the Abrams tank want a few to make up an Australian military train, a groups of them look good on wagons, Australia have special wagons for the Abrams tank only one tank per wagon not like in the US they have two on a wagon, does look awesome, one day.

Fingers crossed I can get the off cut ply cheap enough, don't want to buy a full sheet from Bunning

Enjoyed looking at your fine work on those figures, amazing you used cheap paint wow pretty awesome indeed .

Take care yes we make sure we stay our distance, 6 new cases in a Townsville hospital

Tony
morning Tony,I can,t see why that should not work,but maybe costly with the sealing of it,would have to use enamel paint,to weather proof it,if you owe your place,
put a big pond in the middle ,that will sort most of the landscaping , :smiling4:
only if the German had ,gotten things out a year or so soon,it would of been do different ,I dont mind the Abrams tank have only made one,that would look so good,
on flat beds ,
hope you can find cheap or free off cuts makes all the different to the cost of a build,but Bunning down hear have got smart and charge for off cuts,
very taken by your like of my work,lost for words,with the base work is cheap paint,but for figures and armor I use Vallejo paints,
that is one lot of wiring you have there must be so hard to hind it all and keep it out of harms way as well,
I think with whats going on,is there got it wrong hear yes we have it ,but it has not hit use let,real hope it dose not,get worse but it likes the cold,and we have.
not hit winter let,real hope im wrong about it but it dose scary me
cheers
Monica
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
Some friends are priceless. Beautiful work. My Calif. layout, I had an apprentice volunteer to help w/wiring. Couldn't have done it w/o him. Have you thought of native plantings and real rocks as scenery? PaulE
Thanks Paul, it took him a month to get right, will take a pic on underneath the panel amazing what he did, I don't like to ask too much, haven't heard from him this year, his wife has cancer looking after her,known him for years, with this virus thing not a good thing to invite him over to see the first train run, end of the year switching to DCC.

The layout does go in behind the shrubs in the back garden, have thought of real rocks, won' be having much scenery, only at the spiral tunnel , using blue tarp as water .

Tony
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
morning Tony,I can,t see why that should not work,but maybe costly with the sealing of it,would have to use enamel paint,to weather proof it,if you owe your place,
put a big pond in the middle ,that will sort most of the landscaping , :smiling4:
only if the German had ,gotten things out a year or so soon,it would of been do different ,I dont mind the Abrams tank have only made one,that would look so good,
on flat beds ,
hope you can find cheap or free off cuts makes all the different to the cost of a build,but Bunning down hear have got smart and charge for off cuts,
very taken by your like of my work,lost for words,with the base work is cheap paint,but for figures and armor I use Vallejo paints,
that is one lot of wiring you have there must be so hard to hind it all and keep it out of harms way as well,
I think with whats going on,is there got it wrong hear yes we have it ,but it has not hit use let,real hope it dose not,get worse but it likes the cold,and we have.
not hit winter let,real hope im wrong about it but it dose scary me
cheers
Monica
Hi Monica, I will have a go tomorrow after I mark out the end sections for the bridge, I got my two off cut sheets of 12 mm ply only cost $20 for both , just under 600 wide, had to cut the length down to 7 foot to fit in the back of the car with passenger front seat forward.
Hopefully only use one for the whole bridge ends should do, will set the two sheets up on the grass get the arch and set it up, that way work out the length of the ends, could be higher than 8 and a half inches , use one as a template 20200422_214817.jpg

The drawing is full scale, arch is two foot high, I will be cutting pieces underneath the rail deck so the side beam can be screwed too, saving in have to do any filling, arch be stronger as well., arch is pretty tall.
It is cold in England and East cost of America New York where it has being hit the hardest, lets hope we are on the mend and some of the restriction, lifted soon,.
I have an Abrams tank in 72nd scale I have a Leopard tank in 87 scale, more suited for the Australian army before the Abrams tanks replaced them, the Abram tanks can be quite dear to buy, I like a few of them.
With the wiring going to improve that on the rebuild module, won't be that bad, sadly never got to tst run the control panel will on the new layout can't wait.
Take care Tony
 

boatman

SMF Supporter
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
5,173
Points
113
Location
NORFOLK UK
First Name
christopher
I looked back on some pics and found the first bridge I build, the whole span is 21 feet, don't have that room now, main span is 14 feet, inside is 13 feet, but the first pier was held down with long garden stakes, did have trouble with sagging till I made up some longer ply strips with stopped the sagging.. View attachment 381782 Looking at the pic I plan to do the same with the two 7 foot sections , have a 7 foot side beam on each side and cut two ends, then will double that again making the side beam 24 mm's thick, have thought of a steel frame being on a budget hope my idea will work, the arch is pretty light mainly just for show and help as well, soon find out .

Tony
HI Tony how goes the bridge build ?
chris
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
HI Chris, no haven't done any work on the bridge, being busy planting new plants in the front garden after colour there are .

How are you and your wife going ok and staying safe.

All goes well will work on the bridge tomorrow after lunch, marking out the end sections and marking the length of the each half of the arch , making sure they are 6 foot. and line them up , I plan to use a length of 100mm wide length of ply marking out the two feet and make sure the centre of the arch matches up with the centre of the bridge.

Once the arch ends are cut can join it all up ready to drill the hole for the round dowel,hope my drill bit is long enough, will use three drill bits, I have to mark the cross pieces of ply and screw them in place one every foot and the dowel bebraced as well .

Take care Tony.
 

Ian M

GB Mod
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
SMF Supporter
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
12,949
Points
113
Location
Falster, Denmark
First Name
Ian
Tony. I have moved the bridge build to the layout build as they are sort of the same thing.
If you wish to highlight the posts to give some kind of heading to each post, you can do this by making the first line of the post a "headline"
For an example:
Bridge construction:
Just write the "title" then highlight it and click the B for bold and the U with a line under and you will get the effect as shown.
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
Tony. I have moved the bridge build to the layout build as they are sort of the same thing. If you wish to highlight the posts to give some kind of heading to each post, you can do this by making the first line of the post a "headline" For an example: Bridge construction: Just write the "title" then highlight it and click the B for bold and the U with a line under and you will get the effect as shown.
Tony. I have moved the bridge build to the layout build as they are sort of the same thing. If you wish to highlight the posts to give some kind of heading to each post, you can do this by making the first line of the post a "headline" For an example: Bridge construction: Just write the "title" then highlight it and click the B for bold and the U with a line under and you will get the effect as shown.
Thanks Ian , I wasn't sure where to put the bridge construction thread in,, now it is, there be a second bridge too, looking at a draw bridge, seen some on you tube how they work.

Tony
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
Hi all, I did plan to get stuck into the bridge on Saturday but it was very over cast and predicted storm, so the bridge was out, decided to work on the approach module coming off the bridge,ai straightened up the main line so my high speed trains can go through the cross overs at high speed.

the main station heads off to the right, I will be having 4 platforms and middle track through traffic if there is a train at the left hand platform, the third pic the point after the double slip cross over is a express point, I am modelling Adelaide Park lands terminal, be a lot of fun with the Indian Pacific coming in from Sydney. Depending on the length of the IP, usually is 16 cars long and some times they add on another ten cars, the Ghan also leaves Adelaide to heard to Darwin, IP continues to Perth, the Overlander also uses this station to head to Melbourne, I don't have enough carriages to make up the Ghan will have to win the lotto be nice though .

It is a nice cool Monday morning , tony form down under.
 

Attachments

boatman

SMF Supporter
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
5,173
Points
113
Location
NORFOLK UK
First Name
christopher
Hi all, I did plan to get stuck into the bridge on Saturday but it was very over cast and predicted storm, so the bridge was out, decided to work on the approach module coming off the bridge,ai straightened up the main line so my high speed trains can go through the cross overs at high speed.

the main station heads off to the right, I will be having 4 platforms and middle track through traffic if there is a train at the left hand platform, the third pic the point after the double slip cross over is a express point, I am modelling Adelaide Park lands terminal, be a lot of fun with the Indian Pacific coming in from Sydney. Depending on the length of the IP, usually is 16 cars long and some times they add on another ten cars, the Ghan also leaves Adelaide to heard to Darwin, IP continues to Perth, the Overlander also uses this station to head to Melbourne, I don't have enough carriages to make up the Ghan will have to win the lotto be nice though .

It is a nice cool Monday morning , tony form down under.
HI Tony lookin forward to when all this railway starts to come together an to see all the trains at their platforms are you havin people standin on the platforms ? an 16 cars long god that's a long train an I have been lookin at your layout an I see that you have nr a complete circle of track nr the shed well when the long train goes onto that wont it just pull all the cars off the track ? as I had this happen on my railway
ATB chris ps an Tony sorry but could you please post full size pics as even when I hit the blow up button it still cuts off the pics an I cant see it the whole pic ?
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
HI Tony lookin forward to when all this railway starts to come together an to see all the trains at their platforms are you havin people standin on the platforms ? an 16 cars long god that's a long train an I have been lookin at your layout an I see that you have nr a complete circle of track nr the shed well when the long train goes onto that wont it just pull all the cars off the track ? as I had this happen on my railway
ATB chris ps an Tony sorry but could you please post full size pics as even when I hit the blow up button it still cuts off the pics an I cant see it the whole pic ?
Hi Chris, yeah going to awesome the passenger trains going through the the double and single slip cross overs, have two long express Peco points in front of the cross overs and other end, my coaches are 11 inches long, plan to run a 28 car long Indian Pacific and two NR class locos.

Can't give a time frame when the first train will run, weather hasn't being kind raining tomorrow , hospital appointment Friday and eye test in the morning full on day.

With the curves in the garden shed they be 7 foot wide curves , what most of my main line curves including the spiral , I have a large S bend curve and they are 12 foot half curves will look stunning with a long train on it ,once I start work on modifying the modules in the shed , then I will show everyone how I make up the large curves..

A lot of work ahead with rewiring the module that the terminal connections for the control panel , will track down the pic and post it on the next post.

Tony from wet down under
 

John Race

Member of the Rabble and Pyromania Consultant
SMF Supporter
Joined
May 26, 2015
Messages
8,913
Points
113
Location
lincs
First Name
John
Hi Tony.
Great to see the track setting, looks good on the cross over. Looking fwd to seeing the whole layout . :thumb2::nerd:
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
Hi Tony.
Great to see the track setting, looks good on the cross over. Looking fwd to seeing the whole layout . :thumb2::nerd:
Hi John , how are you going, many thanks yeah have yest again changed the track decking plan, will have to wait till the grass drys out from the heavy due before I can do a second mock up set up of the track decking, this time we set up all the decking.

I may going to start up anther thread in the aircraft section, modelling sea plane water bombers, I have drawing of a twin prop sea plane water bomber , will work out the measurements to see if I have the room on the river.

Tony from cool and windy down under.
 

John Race

Member of the Rabble and Pyromania Consultant
SMF Supporter
Joined
May 26, 2015
Messages
8,913
Points
113
Location
lincs
First Name
John
Thanks Tony, will look out for that.
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
20200526_145656.jpg Mock up track deck plan went well,, now have something big to work on, with the changes will have to draw up a new track plan, now have to draw up a new track plan, the other mock up approaches are out the door .

Looking at the first and second pic I hope to move the second curved deck down a bit more to at least 6 feet , keep the station complex at 18 feet in length and the main line as well, also move the smaller single track curved deck up closer to the straight section, which will become the swing bridge
20200526_145725.jpg Pic three of the bridge and large S bend, trains will look stunning hen on the S bend, another feature is the decking going behind the lily pily, will be in the garden for a short time.


20200526_145754.jpg

Fifth pic a close up, will have to pull up the track, points and diamond cross over off for double track, the double track will not b main line the second inside track be a passing loop, long enough for my passenger train to fit, that way it will become a block and not need two switches

20200526_145810.jpg

Lucky last the corner module mock up module heading int the shed , where the modules stacked up is where the two modules front modules will link up to, I have a special way on how to have large curves on corner modules , e an awesome site indeed, and now can have a small railway town and staging yard under comver
20200526_145858.jpg

No a very big high, tomorrow I be joining up permanent the two bridge half's together going to take some effort, need a flat base to work on , pics to follow .

Once the bridge is together can work out the levels around to the shed modules and onto the spiral, a lot of work still ahead, next job be the bus wiring, having to pull up all that worth I have done, but hope to make it easier to trace if having an issue, also have to think on switching to DCC, having to make up a harness .

Tony from cool morning to nice days, down under
 

boatman

SMF Supporter
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
5,173
Points
113
Location
NORFOLK UK
First Name
christopher
HI Tony you look as though you have been a busy boy an that wirein wow an have you got all the track yet as I bet that cost an arm an a leg hope you are well lookin forward to more pics asap
chris
 

ozdell

SMF Supporter
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
280
Points
93
First Name
Tony
HI Tony you look as though you have been a busy boy an that wirein wow an have you got all the track yet as I bet that cost an arm an a leg hope you are well lookin forward to more pics asap
chris
Hi Chris, yes I have enough track , got 3 full peco flexi track boxes and the track already down on 6 modules that has to come off, will only have five modules in the garden shed and be single track except for the two reverse loops com later, main thing is get a full track circuit up and running, add on ore as I go, there is room for improvement, on the track decking.

Planning a vertical staging yard, 5 tracks wide on two levels later, lot to keep me buys for some time, but must have the trains running by summer as I wont be running any in the summer months too dam hot.

Take care Tony
 
Top