Ultra-sonic cleaning baths

J

JOC1987

Hi guys (and gals),

I have recently started using an airbrush to extend my modelling capabilities and am loving the effects I can produce with it, but I am having a slight "problem" when it comes to cleaning the brush properly without completely disassembling and getting right inside it.

Currently to clean it I am running thinners through the gun to thin down/get rid of excess paint and then putting brush cleaner through to remove the rest, this does the trick alright, but I still have to disassemble it to get the needle, nozzle and paint cup sparkling again. (My airbrush is a Foxhunter AS-186)

Does anybody use an ultra-sonic cleaner and, if so, what would you recommend, if at all, to get?

Apologies for multiple questions, but I am a total novice when it comes to airbrushing

BarryW

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
When you do a colour change, run a couple of cupfulls of the appropriate cleaner through the brush after wiping down the inside with some kitchen roll wetted with cleaner. It is also a good idea to use a cotton bud, or two, to get at less accessible places before spraying the cleaner. You are then ready to spray the next colour.

Every now and again, perhaps at the end of a session or, as I do, at the end of a project, it is necessary to strip clean the airbrush. Do the cleaning as per the colour change, then strip it giving each part some individual attention. Then, not necessarily every time, put the parts into a sonic cleaning bath and run the programme. I often let it soak overnight in the bath, giving it a blast when I put it in and another just before I take it out. I also lubricate the airbrush after a sonic bath.

I would suggest doing an online search and read reviews and select one based on your budget and what the reviews say. Amazon is a good place to start.

Dave Ward

Still Trying New Things
SMF Supporter
First Name
David
James,