Using filler/putty for first time

A

AusA380

I've never used filler/putty before and was just wanting some tips on using it. If there is a gap between two pieces, do I glue the pieces then fill with putty and sand it, then paint the part? Any tips would be handy.

L

Laurie

Hi "Aus".

Whole can of beans there. You have the order correct. A lot depends on what size of gap you have.

I it is a largeish gap then the best thing I have found is to cut card to the thickness of the joint and then using poly cement or Tamiya extra thin fix the card in place. All this will weld together and make a strong joint which providing it is done well will not crack open.

I then after trimming the card just fractionally below the surface use Mr Surfacer 500 to fill the remaing joint. It will probably need a number of applications using a stiffish brush to spread it on. I use tape either side to limit the spread. Each coat takes roughly 30mins to enable another coat. When cured 24hours is a good time you can either wet and dry or use IPA or both to flatten out. May need to make good a few bits just to finish. Good thing about Mr Surfacer is that it is about the same hardness as the plastic plus it does not flake away at the very fine edge. Found it not good on a paint finish , acrylics, as I soften the paint.

For small areas which need filling which are not likely to open up I use Vallejo Putty which is a creamy tooth paste consistency. Smooth with a wet finger. Smooth with IPA when dry or wet and dry. Makes a good smooth finish. Warning do not use IPA on an acrylic paint finish as it is a good paint remover. Vallejo putty is ok on acrylic paints.

Laurie

A

AusA380