Varnishing with airbrush issues-help-Updated

First Name
Carl
I’m a newbie to the modelling.
I have a dual action airbrush which I have been using for the first time to spray paint my models. Painting has gone very well and the finish has been great but whenever I airbrush the varnish (humbrol clear gloss varnish) I keep getting a very mottled and patchy finish which frankly looks awful. I’m spraying at around 18psi pressure from and inch or two distance away from the model. I have attacked a picture showing the type of poor finish I’m getting. Can anyone offer any tips how to correct my mistake please.
carlF5030C62-C990-4B69-9D52-F2F752283458.jpeg

Archetype

FAA plane builder
First Name
Chris
Did you clean the surface prior to varnishing? Looks to me like the surface was greasy prior to application.

Reactions: JR
First Name
Carl
Did you clean the surface prior to varnishing? Looks to me like the surface was greasy prior to application.
I have done the weathering and then wanted to seal it all in. I thought it was ok to spray a varnish layer after weathering? Is theee anything I can do to repair the finish? Thanks in advance.

Archetype

FAA plane builder
First Name
Chris
Yep, you should have been. The only other ting I would be worried about is whether any thinning agents were used that could have affected it.

I can't think of anything mechanical that would have caused that, so I'm at the limit of my experience there I'm afraid.

Hope you suss it out.

Archetype

FAA plane builder
First Name
Chris
Just thinking....what are the weathering products you used? Are they oil based, or oil paints?

rtfoe

SMF Supporter
First Name
Richard
Carl, clearly there is a reaction from the previous paint or weathering material with the varnish. Can you list the types of paints used as whether they are oil or water-based including the varnish plus the length of time in between application?

Cheers,
Richard

First Name
Carl