Weathering tanks - realistic vs. artistic?

J

Jens Andrée

As one of the modelling learners on the forum, having just reached the point where I'm currently learning the different weathering techniques, a few questions have popped up in my head which I thought I run by you.

I have no background with tanks in real life, but here in Sweden we used to have compulsory military service (and are just about to start again) and I was part of a Ranger/Special Forces type unit focusing on winter warfare. I was basically the first to be sent out whilst the rest of Sweden mobilised for 48 hours. Not exactly the best survival expectancy when my counterpart uncle Spetsnaz came over the border and it was my job to stop them... ;)
Anyhow, enough about that but this means that I've got fairly intimate knowledge about weapons, weapon systems and various military tracked vehicles. Especially in winter/cold climate.

To my conundrum then:
Whilst looking at finished display scale models there's often heavy weathering, and yes - things got dirty and worn for sure in reality. Certain things though were kept really pristine since they were your life-lines and there's no chance in hell that they would be allowed to get that worn, dirty, or worse rust like you often see on some models.
If the road wheels got too dirty they could stop rotating properly and that would cause that road wheel to get a flat spot very quickly. A flat spot on a road wheel is a free ticket to disaster. The same goes for ice on the road wheels and their assembly. I've seen road wheels develop severe flat spots after just a one mile when driven in very cold weather and the driver didn't clear the ice and snow properly when parking the carrier/vehicle. Repairing a broken road wheel - or worse, trying to put the track back on - when it's -36°C is not fun! Trust me on that one...