What static grass to use...

SpitfireAce

SMF Supporter
First Name
Tom
I just received my static grass applicator today. I've never tried static grass before and I am at a loss as to which colour/size to use in my diorama(s). The diorama I am building now is 1/35 scale and includes a WWII European country road running through a village with a low grass field/plateau in the background. Can someone give me a clue as to what size of grass to use (grass also running along the side of the road) and what colour I should use? (summer season). I did some research but saw I had a choice of grasses from 2mm to 12mm :dizzy: and colours ranging from brown (burnt grass) to dark green and many in-between. (I was going to go with 6mm and medium green but thought I had better seek some advise before I make an ill-informed choice and avoid any regrets.)

Thanks. Cheers, Tom

D

Deleted member 6559

Hi Tom

I've never used an applicator I'm afraid, but do use static grass tufts designed for wargamers. I would suggest starting off with the smallest size, then building it up if necessary. The colour will depend on the time of year you wish to depict - greener in winter and a bit longer and frazzled in summer.

Hopefully someone with an applicator will reply. Good luck.

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Hi Tom
Not sure what applicator you have, but you will probably find it will only deal with static grass up to 6mm.
As Peter says. What size you use depends upon what effect you are trying to achieve. In 1/35 an inch is equivalent to about 0.75 mm so 6mm static grass represents about 8 inches of growth. Wild grasses are not all the same length, so you really need to get a rough grass effect. The best way to do this is to use more than one size of static grass,, starting with the shorter grass, and layer the longer stuff over the top. Observation of the real world is the key!
As to colours, well, that’s really up to you.