Which was really better, The Mosquito or the Me 410?

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
cheers for postin that pic as ive never heard of this plane or come to that the ME 210 a pic of that please
The two are very hard to tell apart, as you can see from the drawing I also posted above. It’s mainly in the angles in the wings, and also different engines, a greater wingspan and longer fuselage in the 410, but none of these are obvious in many photos as far as I know (though I’m far from an expert). There’s good reading about these kinds of planes on Wikipedia, though. Start here:

and you can click on links to other pages that might interest you. Chances are you’ll be reading for quite a while :smiling3:

was it winkle brown who landed a corsair on a carrier for the first time ?
No idea :smiling3: All I know is that the Americans felt it was unsafe to land a Corsair on a carrier and so let the USMC only operate them from land bases, but different practices in the FAA meant they could land them with little more risk than other planes. When this trickled back to the USA, they changed their procedures and also began flying them off carriers once more.

the usual German infighting over designs.....
Normal state of affairs in Nazi Germany, at all levels and quietly encouraged, usually, by the people immediately above the different sides.

boatman

SMF Supporter
First Name
christopher
The two are very hard to tell apart, as you can see from the drawing I also posted above. It’s mainly in the angles in the wings, and also different engines, a greater wingspan and longer fuselage in the 410, but none of these are obvious in many photos as far as I know (though I’m far from an expert). There’s good reading about these kinds of planes on Wikipedia, though. Start here:

and you can click on links to other pages that might interest you. Chances are you’ll be reading for quite a while :smiling3: