White spirits

First Name
Derek
Can I use white spirits to thin Humbrol enamel paint for airbrushing? I have never used an airbrush before so this is a new experience. Sorry if this question has been previously asked.

Reactions: JR

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
A far better idea as A) its a lot cheaper and B) it does not smell as bad as the Humbrol thinners.
Remember to wear a mask and ventilate well.

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Hi Derek. This can vary with the colour of the paint. I would thin to about fifty/fifty to start with. You can always add more paint if it seems too thin, and obviously add thinners if it seems too thick….you will need to experiment a little to get a mix that works for you…..
Also, just to reiterate, white spirit is quite nasty, so as Ian says, wear a mask and ventilate the room.
To make the paint ready for the airbrush do something like this…..
Mix the humbrol very well. Take some paint out of the tin and put it into to a separate container. Then mix with thinner/white spirit and add this mix to the airbrush. Humbrol paint can be quite lumpy so don’t make your mix in the airbrush cup. You could easily get lumps that block the nozzle. This isn’t terminal for the airbrush but it can be very frustrating when you have to strip and clean it all out ;)

First Name
Derek
Hi Derek. This can vary with the colour of the paint. I would thin to about fifty/fifty to start with. You can always add more paint if it seems too thin, and obviously add thinners if it seems too thick….you will need to experiment a little to get a mix that works for you…..
Also, just to reiterate, white spirit is quite nasty, so as Ian says, wear a mask and ventilate the room.
To make the paint ready for the airbrush do something like this…..