1:450 scale Japanese Aircraft Carrier AKAGI

F

Fenlander

I have never done a ship before and as there is a 'War in the Pacific' Group Build on the Promodellers forum, I thought I would kill two birds with one stone and take part.

I have been looking at this kit online for some time. As you know, I like the odd and unusual and I just loved the look of this amazing conversion from a battle Cruiser to an Aircraft Carrier done in the 1930's. In 1941 (I think) it had the extended full length flight deck fitted to be able to get the larger aircraft into the air.

She, if the Japanese have female for their ships, saw extensive action up to and including the battle of Midway. She was damaged by attacks from American bombers and was evacuated except for repair crew and her Captain while she burned through the night. The next morning against all expectations, she was still afloat and the Captain and repair crew were evacuated and she was deliberately sunk by Japanese torpedo bombers.

I knew it was meant to be when I finally visited the superb Model Shop while away last week in Porthmadog and there was the kit, sitting on the shelf just waiting for me to pick it up!!!!!

Anyway, should be a fairly simple paint job as it is mainly three colours, Hull Red, Grey and deck colour. Painting the 22 1:450 aircraft to go on top should be fun though lol

I will be attempting this, a 1:450 scale Japanese Aircraft Carrier AKAGI for my first ship build, should be fun.......

Gern

'Stashitis' victim
SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave
Hi Graham,

I've been waiting for a 1/144 version of this for a couple of years now. There's a company called Soar Art who advertised they were doing one but it appears to have been dropped from their website so it don't look like I'm gonna get one now. Bummer!

Still, they got a Bismarck in 1/144 which looked very impressive at the Nuremburg show a couple of years ago. Just gotta wait until I've picked the right numbers on the lottery to find the $3500 needed!