1/72 scale Revell U-Boat convert to surface running

P

postman_polly

Hi one and all, after a number of years making r/c boats this is my first attempt at submarines and have decided to convert this sub to surface running r/control.

I've been browsing the various topics on this great forum and didn't realise what I was getting into with this kit. After all, I thought, a submarine is a submarine??? How wrong can I be. After only a little research on this site I am now aware of the complexities of the task ahead.

I bought the kit some months ago and it's been sitting in my garage just waiting to be started. I have a large number of back issues of Model Boat and managed to find the article that explains how to go about this conversion. The suggested supplier for the parts to complete this conversion was given in the article so an order was promptly sent.

On receipt of the bits my first impression was how big the motors are. In the article it is suggested that servo motors will fit and would be suitable. These motors look tiny in the article but I have been supplied with 2 x 380 type motors complete with metal motor mounts.

I've decided to start the build and see how I get on. But, with the vast amount of information available on the net and in the forum, I'll probably spend more time reading than I will on the build but I'm hoping to be able to make my sub look a bit like the real thing. I just haven't decided which real life sub I want mine to the model of.

So, will my motors fit?? and how is it best to mount them within the plastic hull?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'll try to show pics of the sub as the build progresses.

Cheers.

T

tom p