Decals

B

Billy Girvan

Hi all, back into modelling after 25 year break, never used to do them properly but gonna try my best. Never used a forum either, might have many questions as I'm basically a newbie, hope this is the right place...anyway I've bought some revell decal soft and was wandering if it is advisable to use this before applying the decal i.e. on the model first and a coat after on top of the decal or do I need another type for under/over? If that makes sense, sorry if a stupid question. Basically will this revell decal soft do both? Thanks, Billy.

dave

SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave
Welcome to one of the friendliest forums around.

I have never used revel decal soft, but someone else can probably correct me if I am wrong. I normal use micro-sol and micro-set and presume the revel decal soft works in a similar fashion to micro-sol.

I normally do a coat of gloss varnish ( humbrol clear) and then dampen the area for the decal with micro-sol add the decal, pat dry with a tissue and the brush with micro-sol and allow to dry. Repeat the micro-sol until the decal is tight to the surface. Then a last coat of micro-set.

B

Billy Girvan

Ah right thanks dave, so I will need a setting solution too. I was hoping that the decal soft removed the need to use the gloss varnish before applying the decal. think I read that somewhere, what do you think?

D

dougie

I use microsol and set and humbrol decal Fix. I soak the decals in decal Fix if I use that and brush the model too. Does a good job. As does the microscale stuff

Welcome to the forum. Definitely the friendliest

D

demon