Glue and Filling Basics

P

Paul

Hi there,

Yes, another newbie here! I have some experience from building wargaming items (28 and 15mm mainly, and for use rather than display so a lot more forgiving!), but have recently felt a desire to revisit my childhood hobby and move up in scale. However, the years in between haven't resulted in the acquisition of miraculous talent, and so I am looking for some advice on some of the very basics in model assembly (I am sure the painting, weathering and display questions will follow!).

In the first instance there is the matter of model construction. I am much better at preparing parts, and more patient in terms of careful sprue removal, removing mould lines etc. However, my control over glue appears as bad as ever. How do you control glue application for smaller parts so that the glue doesn't spread across the chassis for example? What glue is best for smaller parts and what is best for more structural elements such as hull construction? I am quite prepared to accept that different glues are better for different elements, but not sure where to start!

I can also see that, no matter which model is being built, there is sometimes a gap that needs filling. Fortunately I haven't yet had to deal with one that would require additional styrene filling (dreading that!), but some elements do need filling to address fit issues. What filler do people use? I have tried the Humbrol model filler, but found it a bit thick and 'claggy' when trying to control the application - is this just a matter of getting experience or are there other fillers that may be more 'newcomer' friendly?

The current project is a Leopard 2A4 from Revell with a Matilda and Tiger from Tamiya waiting for attention (the fruits of a birthday trip to Bovington!). The Leopard is going to be a purely out of the box build to get some experience, but I am considering some more display options for the other two, including more extensive weathering.