Paint fumes, do I need to worry?

pjgtech

SMF Supporter
First Name
Peter
Another newbie question, sorry!
At the moment I will just be using the small tins/jars of paint, mostly Tamiya and some Vellajo also the cheap Airfix starter paints (not sure if i'll use them or not yet)
Do they give off fumes and will I need to wear a mask or have ventilation?
Currently just set-up in my old study, which has an openable window, but thats all it has in the way of ventilation.
Cheers

pjgtech

SMF Supporter
First Name
Peter
Actually this question also applies to the glues and thinners I will be using? (Tamiya and Revell), cheers

Waspie

SMF Supporter
First Name
Doug
Actually this question also applies to the glues and thinners I will be using? (Tamiya and Revell), cheers
Mmmm difficult. I work as a general rule in a well ventilated garage. If I'm doing a lot of spraying, (acrylics), I'll use a mask.
If brush painting again acrylics - don't use anything!!
I have to say, that's my choice and as my old boss would say re H&S, I carried out my own dynamic risk assessment!!!!!

eddiesolo

It's a modelling time!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Si.
Good practice is to always open a window if you can, ventilation is key even for small painting jobs. Larger jobs, airbrushing etc get a fume box and ventilate it outside using a hose. Any rattle can usage do outside. Always wear a rated mask if you need to.

pjgtech

SMF Supporter
First Name
Peter
Just trying to think back when I painted models 40 years ago and I did not even think about ventilation or wear a mask back then!
I would wager that the paints back then were probably not as safe either, maybe even containing lead? :dizzy:
I assume they are mostly water based or acrylic now.

eddiesolo

It's a modelling time!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Si.