1:35 Revell Sherman Calliope

B

Boldman

So after two quite complicated builds recently, I've decided to do something nice and simple and to this end I've decided to have a go at my first Sherman since the Airfix one I built when I was a child back in the 70s!

I picked this up in ModelZone a while ago as it was on sale half price... I felt it would have been rude not to buy this kit for a tenner! So here is the box:

and here is the obligatory sprue shot:

Just for once, I'm not going to complicate things by adding lots of extra accessories or customising it - this will be built Out of the Box. OMG how will I cope? I'm sure I'll manage some way to make life difficult for myself, its just the way I work!

Now I am a total novice as far as Shermans go so please be tolerant with my mistakes :smiling3:

First off when building a tank is of course is the suspension:

Next is the base of the hull with the roadwheels attached and olive drabbed...

and next, the upper hull has been primed and then given a coat of hull red

as I think I'm going to use this as an opportunity to try out the hairspray technique to chip the hull paint and show the base primer underneath.

I must say I'm enjoying this build as its quite uncomplicated as I'm not having to worry about PE or scratch built extras!

Rocket tubes, turret and other parts have also been primed in advance so now its a trip to Sainsburys to get some cheap hairspray :smiling3:

J

John Huggins

Looking good Andrew, nice start.

Would love to see the hairspray bit as i've never seen it done or what it looks like when it's done.(picking things up all the time).

Keep the pic's coming.

John

T

tommy1drop

Hi Andrew nice start mate, looking forward to seeing this build develop.

Tom

B

Boldman

Here we are a bit further along, tracks painted, partly weathered and added.