Acrylics or Enamels?

S

Screw Loose

I hope someone can answer this one as I am no expert on painting ;)

I am building a Polar Lights USS Enterprise 1:350 kit with a full lighting set in it and have been doing some of the kit modification this week.

To prevent light leakage I have used Tamiya Flat Black in numerous thin coats on the inner surfaces using my Airbrush, and a Gloss white on top with a Gloss clearcoat to finish to help ligh refraction etc :smile11:

But the problem is the amount, wow about 7 tins of each to complete the job!

Are there any alternative types for the exterior, bearing in mind I need to Prime it, put a gloss white on and a pearlescent white also?

What brands are there out there and which is the best route to take, Acrylic or Enamel etc? THe kit recomends Model Master Enamels!?

Thanks in advance :thumbsup:

D

dubster72

As it's a gloss coat that's needed, how about going to Halfords? It's got to be cheaper & they'll have pearlescent versions too.

Worth a look I'd say!

Patrick

S

sharowjohn

Hi,

If you read the post another Alclad question you will find my experience of Modelmaster enamels so far;I have just spent half the night rectyfying my mistake having done so, lots of soapy water & wet & dry the finish is very good.The mistake I made:- tested the paint after giving it a good shaking a bit thick and er gloopy! so extra thinners instead of the usual 2:1 very nearly 50:50 away we go @ 20 psi should have tried it out on some scrap plastic the pressure was too low: orange peel was the result. Upped the pressure to about 28psi & carried on carefully built the layer faults & all spent tonight rubing it back but it's a good finnish. All down to cost & if you have not used the product before either experiment or rub down.

Cheers sharowjohn.

S

Screw Loose

Thanks.....

Thanks for the reply Folks.....