Adventures with a 3D printer

Neil Merryweather

SMF Supporter
First Name
Neil
I have recently bought a resin 3D Printer, the Elegoo Mars 2 Pro, and here, as promised, is some follow-up.

IMG_20220211_132243828 landscape.jpg

Although I have many years’ experience with other printers I dutifully printed the manufacturer’s test print, called ‘Rook’, which I was expecting to be some kind of Warhammer bird character, but turned out be a boring chess piece, and a very old design at that.

IMG_20220211_132301742 ii.jpg

And yes it is supposed to be upside down. These printers work by printing one super-thin layer at a time on a plate that gradually lifts out of the bath of resin.

This chess piece design has been around in the world we originally called Rapid Prototyping since the year dot. But to be fair it does exemplify the kind of thing moulding can’t do easily- spirals and helixes and tubes without seam lines.

IMG_20220211_170612995.jpg

But this is no use to us military modellers, so let’s find something that is.

I have been preparing a diorama for over ten years which involves GIs climbing down a cargo net into a 1/35 scale Higgins Boat on D-Day. As I researched the side of the ship that the cargo net would hang on I found lots of pics of sailors hanging around watching and I though ‘why not go the whole hog and build part of the ship as well?’ I started to prepare scale drawings and in order to place things correctly I built a detailed 3D digital model which took me over a year, and is still ongoing. But that’s for a separate blog, and probably not until I retire.

So what I am going to print is a part of the ship- a fire-hose point to be precise

pipes close up.jpg

This is the Liberty Ship Jeremiah O’Brien in San Francisco which I am using as the basis for my model. I was fortunate enough to visit her years ago, and don’t I wish I had taken even more photos!