Airfix 1:48 Seafire FR 47

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
I've been waiting for this contra rotating prop Seafire for, well quite some time. It's a re-box of an old kit, which until recently would easily fetch around the £30.00 mark on ebay. This re-box was about £15.00, normal price around £18.00.

And for that sort of money, it's good. There's not too much going on in the cockpit, but the surface detail (and there's loads of it) is really very good. The original kit was considered by many 'experts' to be just about the best Seafire around, and for once, I think they might be right.

View attachment 50455

As I said, the cockpit was a little sparse. As this is basically an old kit, there is already lots of after market stuff available. So, I've gone for an Aires resin cockpit kit. I've never used this much resin before, should be fun !

View attachment 50456

And finally, hopefully a pic trying to show the detail of this 1996 kit.

View attachment 50457

Now to try and make the cockpit fit the fuselage. Good job the weather is nice so I can do all the sanding outside !

View attachment 53138

View attachment 53139

View attachment 53140

IMG_0302.jpg

IMG_0310.jpg

IMG_0307.jpg

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Its a great kit in it. I have two in the stash, ripped off the Airfix shop site as soon as they came in! ( I been waiting for them as well)!!

I will have to look at the Aires cockpit. Do you have a link to it?

I was looking at starting one the other day, but the Mojo is low at the moment. (and still not finished the display case). So I will enjoy watching your build.

Ian M

edit! Found it! Costs as much as the kit almost. lol

mossiepilot

A learner learning
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tony
Looks a nice build, I got stuck with my 1:48 spitfire and it's back in it's box waiting.

I'll look forward to seeing you do this one justice.

Tony.

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin