Best sprayable Brass please?

M

MarshMan

The title says it all really. I’m new to plastic modelling and airbrushing, so a lot to learn. Is any particular brand of metallic better than another, or is it just personal choice please?
Look forward to any advice
Max

rtfoe

SMF Supporter
First Name
Richard
The title says it all really. I’m new to plastic modelling and airbrushing, so a lot to learn. Is any particular brand of metallic better than another, or is it just personal choice please?
Max

Sorry Max...this is a little tricky as it has to do with the smoothness of the pigments in the paint. Guys who do cars and gundams will know better. Fantasy figure paints seem to be the fad with metalics too.

Cheers,
Richard

M

MarshMan

Sorry Max...this is a little tricky as it has to do with the smoothness of the pigments in the paint. Guys who do cars and gundams will know better. Fantasy figure paints seem to be the fad with metalics too.

Cheers,
Richard
Thanks Richard, so is it perhaps easier to brush paint these colours?
Max

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
Max
Hello,
I have never been disappointed with Alclad. Strange stuff, but really good.

rtfoe

SMF Supporter
First Name
Richard
Thanks Richard, so is it perhaps easier to brush paint these colours?
Max

For large surfaces I would prefer to airbrush them. If you don't have an airbrush perhaps getting some Tamiya spray can paint will do the job. Don't try brush painting with Tamiya as at times I have gotten mixed results. Brush painting with enamels or Vallejo is much better but don't know of their metalics. Alcad is one metalic paint many have given the thumbs up but it has its special way of application.

Cheers,
Richard

M

MarshMan

Thanks Colin and Richard. In what way is Alclad ‘strange stuff’?

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Hi Max