Eduard 1/48 Scale Bf 109G-10

SteveT

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
So after much thought and indecision, i'm just about to start my next build. This is very interesting for me for several reasons, firstly the last fixed wing aircraft model I built was like in 1977-78 or so. Secondly I've never done an Eduard kit before and it comes with a masking set and photo etch parts ...both of which i've never used before.

So I'm going into this with a mixture of excitement and nervousness. Eeek!

Here's the box and the contents! more images to come down the line.
109_1.png109_2.png

Last edited:

SteveT

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
I'm looking at the instructions and well, I'm stuggling to work out what colours/brand they use.
Looking at this image, I'm not sure what colours H and C refer to. I assumed H was humbrol but it seems not.

Edit: Nevermind, I worked it out!

Last edited:

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
If it’s H and C references, it’s almost certainly to Mr. Aqueous (H) and Mr. Color (C) paints. Taking a quick look at the instructions on Scalemates, I see this table:

Eduard Bf 109 paints.jpeg

At the top, it says “GSi Creos (GUNZE)” — GSi Creos is the current name for the company that makes the Mr. Hobby line of paints, tools, and lots more; they used to be known as Gunze-Sangyo, which is what a lot of people still call it and why it says GUNZE as well.

If you want to use a different brand of paint, though, I would advise ignoring the GSi references and also those to Mission Models paints, and instead look at the RLM numbers. Those are the official German paint numbers used by the Luftwaffe during the war (RLM = Reichsluftfahrtministerium, “National Aviation Ministry”), and a lot of model paint manufacturers make paints matched to those.

SteveT

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Unfortunately I may abandon this before it has really started.
The first step is the cockpit, I primed some of the parts and then got to the PE ..oh dear