help needed on my first purchase guys

W

windymiller

well its probably going to be two as i cant choose so me262 and bf109 but especially with the bf109 theyre are so many differing models of the same plane even from the same manufacturer, so ???? any thoughts guys ?? bearing in mind im a born again newbie !!!!

Jim F

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Hi Alan.
Following on from Al, once you have decided the scale if you google scalemates the aircraft you woud like to build (eg 1/48 Tamiya Me 262 ) scroll down the page and you will find reviews on the kit and other after market details available, as this is your first model for a while I would suggest you build the kit out of the box.
regards Jim

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
1/48 Bf109F/G go for ICM or Zvezda
1/32 Bf109G go for Revell

1/48 Me262 go for Hobbyboss
1/32 Me262B-1/U1 go for Revell (Revell are releasing the Me262 A-1a soon)

Last edited:
W

windymiller

so being new (thick) would i be better with a bigger model ??

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
Personally i would start with either 1/72 or (preferably) 1/48. But the choice is yours

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
so being new (thick) would i be better with a bigger model ??
Bigger scale = more detail (generally) but also more parts. A smaller scale model is easier/quicker to put together (again, generally) and so may be the better choice for a first effort, I think.

Dave Ward

Still Trying New Things
SMF Supporter
First Name
David
Alan,
I'd say 1/48 - big enough for good detail, but small enough not to take up too much room.
I'd second the HobbyBoss Me 262 - nice model, good fit.
The Zvezda 1/48 Bf 109F is a very detailed model - possibly too many small parts - it has a complete engine - maybe that the Tamiya Bf 109 maybe better..........
Dave

boatman

SMF Supporter
First Name
christopher