help with paint job

G

gbetteley

Hello all!!

I hope someone can hekp me. First off I am using an Iwata airbrush and compressor with a moisture trap along with a spray booth. The spraybooth I cover with a piece of cardboard to help cover the model up.

No matter how nice the finish looks I always get little pieces of dust atleast one on the paint job.

I clean my airbrush out after every use. Close paint up while waiting in between coats and even mist the area with a little water to help any dust settle prior to painting.

I am fairly new to models and know there has to be a trick out there to help. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

T

tecdes

A few things that may help.

Take it you use the fan on the spray booth. The fan will stir up the air & pull air from the air in the room you use. I only use the fan on mine when using cleaning liquid on the airbrush. I use Vallejo which is supposed to be non toxic. But use a nose mouth filter.

Make sure you put a cover over the paint holder on the airbrush to stop bits drifting in.

I use tack rags. You can get them at an automotive paint store also B & Q. These are used for getting rid of small particles dust hairs etc on cars etc before paint spraying.

Also after spraying I pop the piece into a plant propagator to reduce any hairs etc.

I do all the above but still get bits. Then very soon after the paint goes off I use wet & dry 2000 gauge paper to carefully remove hairs & bits.

Laurie

G

Gomer Pyle

Dust is the enemy in a never ending battle. With matt finishes it is usually not much of a problem, but with gloss paint and varnish it will get frustrating at times. First of I minimize the factor while painting by useing a very clean room and close of any draught. Then I'll use a water-mister and spray water in the air (you can use your AB for that too if the nozzle is big enough), remember to keep your model covered. Let the droplets settle and start painting.