How to get started with tanks?

P

Pkdrew01

Hi all.

I really like the look of some of the work you guys have done. I especially like the tanks, they look awesome with amazing detail. I'm new to models and was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction to which makes/brands of tank models are good and guide me to what tools etc I would need to get going.

Any help would be much appreciated and thanks in advance to anyone taking the time to read this

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Well to a total new beginner I would suggest a 1/35 scale for Tamiya. Not to bad price wise. Good detail, easy to build and normally fit well and build into a good model. Being they larger scale they are also easier to work on for untrained finger.

As for tools. A sharp knife, some fine sand paper, a couple of the wife's or mum's emery boards, the ones she does her nails with. oh and some glue.

Ian M

P

Pkdrew01

Thanks for the reply Ian.

I will take a trip to a local model shop and have a look. Im not expecting it to be easy to start off with but I will take my time. I'm giving up smoking and looking for something to do to take my mind off of it with a sense of achievement at the end. My grandfather used to make model tanks and I used to love them when I was a kid.

Thanks again

First Name
Aaron
Good luck with quitting smoking mate, that is my demon that I just can't shake.

I agree with Ian, tamiya are a great place to start. You can pick up their old panzer two kit for cheap and it's awesome fit wise.

Welcome to the forum.

R

Richy C

I agree with Ian and Aaron tamiya 1/35 , but for me a sherman or churchill is a good place to start - not to pricey good kits also a nice size and good detail and the paint scheme is easy .

Richy,

papa 695

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Welcome to the forum

The guy's have said just about all you need to know looking forward to seeing the progress of whatever kit you choose