I'm considering buying a spray booth

S

Stevekir

airbrush-pro.co.uk

Click on "Spray Booths and Filters" at the left.

I am a beginner so don't want to lash out too much dough yet. I thought of making one from 1/2" chipboard and a 6" desk fan, but it would cost about 2/3 the cost of the above, including the hose, and quite a lot of work.

Is this one worth having?

Are there any others worth considering?

Thanks.

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
As a beginner i wouldn't splash out on one just yet personally. Unless you are spraying somewhere in the house that is close to others. I spray in a spare room in our house and always wear a mask personally. Cannot justify a spray booth yet

S

Stevekir

Thanks, flounder_al. What type of mask do you use, type, and where is it sold?

In theory, (my guess) no mask can prevent you breathing solvent vapour. Its a gas and mixes with the air. This implies that only a scuba-like compressed air tank system could be totally safe. But that's being rather obsessive!

T

tecdes

Yes I have one of these booths Steve & they are very good.

But they are not wide or high & for instance you would never get a full 1/72 Lancaster in there or probably many if any 1/48. Think you can get an extension kit which doubles the width.

I spray in front of mine. Also I found if I used the extractor, it works fine, but it pulls air through including all the small hairs in the air. Guess where they land. Tried it again only last week & hairs !!!!