Is primer really needed

T

thepureness

Beginner here guy. I've started modelling again after some fun in my child hood and I've had some issues with priming my new kit.

I've purchased a revell airbrush and some tamiya rattle can primers but my result of either brushing or spraying direct are terrible and I'm getting loads of defects under the paint. I have cleaned the plastic which some forums suggest. Is primer actually needed? Do any of you go straight to painting without it?

saguy

A true Leeds Utd fan ............
SMF Supporter
First Name
lindsey
hi there .... i have never used a primer on any of my models ....also have not experienced any drama with the paint once it is on the model ... not sure if it is the right and most correct thing to do but it is working fine for me. welcome to the forum .. there r plenty of chaps here who will give u good sound advice ...... cheers lindsey

C

Cooperman69

Hi....

I returned to scale modelling myself not so long ago and found the info. And experience the guys share on this forum invaluable so far, so your in the right place.

Anyway, when I first started I too did not use primer but following some mishaps like peeling acrylic paint and paint separating with surface tension I was advised to both give the sprue a good and full clean to remove any mould residue and oils plus give a coat of primer for the acrylic to adhere to. It will also show any imperfections on the model surface to correct before painting.

I did find however that the rattle can primers where too overpowering and sprayed everywhere so I decided to use Vallejo model air primer in my airbrush with very pleasing results.

Atb, Colin

C

CDW

I don't use primer on models either, if you get your surface prepared correctly there's no real need in my opinion.