Just joined - Critique/Help needed

D

Donnie

Hello, this is my first post and I am relatively new to the hobby having started earlier this year. The figures are 1/35 but I struggle to get delicate real detail on uniforms, i.e collar stripes, belts..

Also attached is a picture of a cockpit instrument panel I was pleased with until I seen some pro stuff (also attached) and it completely burst my bubble. I don't even know how it is possible to get that insane level of detail.

Attachments

• IMG_20180902_174642.jpg
    IMG_20180902_174642.jpg
    89.4 KB · Views: 64
  • IMG_20180902_174745.jpg
    IMG_20180902_174745.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 67
  • IMG_20180902_174802.jpg
    IMG_20180902_174802.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 60
  • IMG_20180902_174955.jpg
    IMG_20180902_174955.jpg
    71.8 KB · Views: 70
  • IMG_20180804_223914.jpg
    IMG_20180804_223914.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 67
  • IMG_20180811_155822.jpg
    IMG_20180811_155822.jpg
    45.3 KB · Views: 67
  • gal03.jpg
    gal03.jpg
    78.9 KB · Views: 60

scottie3158

SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
Hi Donald,
Firstly welcome to the forum. Don't beat your self up over your figures they are probably the hardest thing to do. I have modelled for years and I still struggle with them. As to fine details again it's practice and getting the paint to the right consistency. You do not say what paint you are using but I would say from the pictures you are using enamels. As to the instrument panel if you make the paint just thin enough it will flow from the tip of the brush into the pocket formed by the dial. when this is dry a good technique is to dry brush. This is done by using a flat soft brush putting a slightly lighter colour than the base colour put some paint on the bristles then using clean tissue or and old towel remove nearly all the paint then brush in straight lines over the raised detail this will just lift the details. this can be repeated until you get the finish you want to achieve.