New to model Spray Guns

First Name
Eric
I have just brought a model spray gun to try my hand at it to my model Painting. But I have come up against my first hurdle.
They say use 1-1 in equal measures of paint ( Which I use Tamiya Acrylic ) and water well the little dripper they give you with the Gun which I presume is for measuring the amount of paint/ Water when I put the dipper in the paint it sucks it up ok but put into a small cup the dripper the paint come out very slowly drip drip. I think it should come out a bit faster than that is it because the Paint in the jar is to thick and I should Dilute it I have never used Acrylic Paint before I have only used oils enamel paint with brush . So how do you guys measure your paints what device do you use. Do I dilute the whole of the paint in the jar it came in or what? Thanks for helping me out to a newbie to this spray gun lark

stillp

SMF Supporter
First Name
Pete
I usually dilute the whole of the jar of Tamiya acrylics, but not with water, better to use their X-20A thinner. The ideal consistency is usually described as "like milk". Whether that's skimmed milk or full fat Jersey isn't stated! About 50:50 is probably OK, maybe a little thicker (more paint).
I'm assuming that your "spray gun" is an airbrush? What compressor are you using?
Pete

rtfoe

SMF Supporter
First Name
Richard
Consistency of UHT milk from the carton, 15-20 psd for air and spray at a distance where paint on surface is wet and dries as you go past. Not too close or it pools. Not too far or it dries before touching the surface. Practice on a plastic spoon till you get comfortable. The mixture and air also depends on how sharp and close you want to get to the surface...obviously thinner paint and lesser air gets you closer till your needle almost touches the surface.
If you're using a spray gun then forget thin lines...basically used for large coverages.

Cheers,
Richard

First Name
Eric