paints which brand

john i am

SMF Supporter
First Name
john
Could you guys out there tell me what paint to use on my kits as im new to the airbrush at the moment im using tamiya paints thinners and cleaners. Are there better options for a newbie i mainly do planes and tanks . Keeping it at 1/72 scale at the moment keeping costs down till i improve. I"ve got a budget compressor and airbrush at the moment £70.00 amazon im sure you know the one i mean as18 model. Should i upgrade my hardware to get better results. Cheers lads for you valued advice

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
Vallejo Model Air paints are good to use with the added bonus they are pre-thinned already. To be honest though i use various brands of paints. At the moment i have Tamiya, Vallejo, Xtracrylix and Humbrol paints.

john i am

SMF Supporter
First Name
john
thanks al i will try other brands cheers

BarryW

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
I second the Vallejo Model Air. I started using Humbrol in the airbrush and when I switched to Vallejo it was a revelation!!! Very easy to use in comparison.

A

andygh

Vallejo model air is a very good paint to start with, it allows you to practice with the airbrush without worrying about paint consistency. I learned a lot using model air and it allowed me to move on to the better paints with a good idea of what I'm supposed to be doing :lol

T

tecdes

Like Barry John I started with Humbrol, enamel in my case, & then change to Vallejo which are acrylic. If I had not I would I think have given up model making.