Prop Shaft question

G

Grief

Hi Folks.

I'm Building a Model of the coaster Ben Ain.

I have fitted the Rudder gear and I am ready to fit my Shiny new bronze

bearing prop shaft. After that I can check out my shiny new Brass Prop.

Now heres the silly question that you all know the answer to

The prop shaft needs to lie flat. So what stop the water flooding in through the shaft past the bearing once it is fixed in place?

The shaft comes with a nut and washer at both ends. Is that to lock to the prop and the coupling?

Sorry if these are basic Questions but I'm new to this bit.

Any help would be appreciated. I think I have most of the other drive and R.C

bits worked out. I will feel a lbigger lemon if I fit the prop shaft and something basic.

Regards

Chris

J

jankers

Hi Grief

The shaft comes with a nut and washer at both ends. Is that to lock to the prop and the coupling?
correct

So what stop the water flooding in through the shaft past the bearing once it is fixed in place?
Use grease/petroleum jelly(vaseline) or light oil such as "Three in One" depending upon your fancy.

B

Bunkerbarge

Chris,

I would strongly recommend that you look into an alternative stern tube arrangement using proper ball bearings rather than plain bushes. One of the main reasons for this is that the end of the tube is effectively sealed and greatly reduces the likelyhood of any leakage into the hull. Ball bearings, if properly looked after, will also last considerably longer.

I got mine from the Prop Shop and when the boat is down to its marks and running there is no leakage whatsoever. I filled my tube with waterproof grease.

From what I remember the price was very reasonable as well.