Sausage-fingered optimist reporting for duty.

Bobby Conkers

Sausage Fingers
SMF Supporter
First Name
Andy
Greetings fellow survivors.

Decided to do some exploring and found this place. A £2.75 initial investment seemed propitious and worthy.

Am in my third modelling adolescence. My first, the usual Grandfather and stringy Airfix tube glue knocking up Spitfires and battleships which ended up looking like strategically-prodded BluTac. My second, a more considered and dextrous assault on Tamiya's F1 car collection - self-taught and with some eventual success.

My third, 15 years on. Have got back into it having got married and taken ten years to negotiate mess-making space. First re-entry, murdered the Revell Big Boy Locomotive. Should have just dipped it in Dulux black matt. Second, refined some technique and a reasonable stab at the 5145 yacht, then spent several patient months on the 1:700 Titanic.

I got lucky (I think) and bought a huge job lot of Revell models and acrylic paints at a boot sale - turns out to be a complete set of paints for £20 - some new and some several years old and half empty. At present I'm a brusher, the airbrushing thing scares me a bit, I have a feeling I'd repaint the living room. If anyone has a real Janet and John thread on airbrushing, that would be very handy.

I'm sure doyens of the art such as your good selves would be wincing at my techniques. I have massive hands. Massive. Fine detail is a matter of pot luck, so hopefully I'll pick up some assistance on here. One thing I do have on my side is a talent for reading instructions and translating them. Ikea flatpacks are Mr Men books to me, and weirdly model instructions fly off the page. Just can't quite translate a simple instruction to a finished product sometimes.

Please excuse the newbie questions, the ignorance and the lack of enthusiasm in trawling YouTube's search. I prefer reading to watching I suppose.