Submarines

P

periscope

Hi Everyone - just joined the Forum. My interest is in submarines, mainly and I'm looking for advice on what is a good beginners model to get me on the water (or under it) Thanks in advance.

john

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
First Name
John
Hi Periscope welcome to the forum, I'm sure there will be someone here that can help you :smiling3:

A

adzam

lo and welcome mate,

i know there are a few members here with sub experience.

good to have here mate

Adz..

N

noobee captain

Hi periscope, welcome.

I have looked around (as a newbie myself) and found the Deep Dive VI seemed to be a good entry level.

Anyone out there with experience of it?

K

kaliam

If you want a good starters sub I would go with the Trumpeter Kilo Class Sub. Very good for begginers.

S

sonparc

Hi Periscope

I have just started my first sub - the Robbe U 2540. This is my fourth Robbe kit and I think it is a help to have built some of their other stuff to know how they think.Even so I currently am not sure from the instructions which way up a part goes but I expect it will become clear before it is too late!

Good luck with whatever you go for.

Sonparc

S

Screw Loose

Welcome to the wonderfull world of Subs :dancing1:

I am onto my 5th sub now and still a gluten for punishment I still love building and flying them.

I started off with a Robbe U47. Pretty reasonable priced kit, with good buildings and schematics. I found that it was pretty stable and handled well in the water. Plus if your really keen you can convert it to a static diver with a piston tank. I did that with mine and it works pretty well.

But what kit I suppose it depends on what you want. I dont know if you have had much experience of subs, so please dont think I am being cheeky here, but theres the Dynamic diving, where the boat has a slight positive bouyancy so the motors have to push it under with the forward hydroplanes. Acts like a porpois in the water.