tamiya x20a thinner

P

premacy10

Hi all,

only been using an airbrush for 6 months and luckily with decent results. I hve mainly stuck to Vallego Model Air as it does not require thinning but i am starting to use the odd Humbrol, Tamiya paint which does. My question is would the Tamiya x20a thinner thin Humbrol or any other non tamiya paint and can i use it to clean my airbrush.

Many thanks Tony

M

munkster

I'm really no expert but one would imagine that unless the Humbrol is acrylic then the Tamiya X20A won't thin it? I will happily stand corrected because I don't really know.

What I would say though is that if you are going to use X20A then buy a big bottle of it (about £5-6 or so for 250ml) because the small 10ml jars are totally extortionate pro rata compared to the big bottle. I bought two big bottles of X20A and haven't looked back. As far as I know X20A is based on IPA (Isopropyl Alcohol) which I use to clean my airbrush but using proprietary thinners seems like a pricey way to clean your tools!

I'm sure someone with much more knowledge will be along shortly :smiling:

S

snapper41

I don't use Tamiya thinner - much too expensive! Grab yourself some isopropanol alcohol from ebay - fraction of the price, and thins Tamiya acrylics with a 50/50 ratio. Cleans the airbrush too.

simontie

SMF Supporter
First Name
simon
or if you want you could just use windscren cleaner thats what i use for the tamiya paints its £5-6 quid for 5 ltrs trust me i will last for ever as long as you buy the one with the low temp -16 ish or lower it has a higher alchohol content and the blue tint so far has'nt effected my paint. not sure about the humberol but i would think you will need a heavy duty thinner only issue is these tend to rot the rubber seals over a period of time.

simon

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony