Total Newbie Questions

P

Peakoverload

Yep, I'm a total newbie and by that I mean that apart from making (fairly badly) Airfix kits as a kid and a brief attempt at making other kits as an adult I know next to nothing. The only thing I do know is that models have always interested me and I'd love to try my hand at it. That said, whilst I have been looking into this for the past couple of months I do have a number of questions that I'm hoping you guys can answer or point me in the right direction with.

I am interested in making a range of different models but I'm not particularly interested in military vehicles and aircraft, nothing against them it's just that they aren't the kind of thing I personally would want on display. I'm more into dioramas, model villages but also things like classic cars, steam engines etc. The one thing that I always found disappointing in the models I have made previously was in the paint job I did. Whilst I knew about things like dry brushing I was just never satisfied with the overall finish. Whether that was down to the quality or type of paints I was using (mainly enamel), not knowing how to prepare the paints and surface (I never primed anything) or just that I was rubbish with a brush I can't say. Having looked into it further I believe that I would like to use an airbrush but I'm conscious of not running before I can walk and whilst buying a top quality Badger or Iwata airbrush would at least mean I couldn't blame the tools, it's also more money than I would feel comfortable spending until I know if I can even use an airbrush well enough to buy a decent one.