ZULU! The Store House...Rorke's Drift...January 1879

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Hi all,

I've been wanting to pluck up courage to have a stab at this (See what I wrote there?!) for some time, so now the darker evenings are here, I'm going to have a bash at it. I've never tried to copy stuff before, as I prefer the free flowing of my own ideas and find trying to copy a bit daunting, particularily as this is my first ever attempt!

I've made a quiet start. It is in 1/72 scale. I had a look at various Rorke's Drift web sites and came to the conclusion that despite some 'brick and stone counters', bickering and arguing, no one knows for deffo what the buildings looked like, so I've taken an average and 'did me own!'.....Purists elsewhere might rip it to shreads, but it'll do me and it's all mine!

A certain model making company do both the hospital and storehouse.. but at £400 for the store house alone, I decided to build my own for now't...

As usual, I've made 1/72 scale paper plans for both buildings, but due to space limits, I'm going to concentrate on the Storehouse, the kraal, the redoubt and the barricades connecting these structures.

I might do the Hospital later if I'm still sane!

The initial building work started off badly as I will explain, but hey ho, that's all part of dioramaringing...

Here is the 1/72 paper template

View attachment 87860

Transferred to the Pizza base with stones and bricks engraved onto the pieces. Sorry, not too clear.

View attachment 87861

Painted 1st coat and ready for sticking together

View attachment 87862

View attachment 87863

View attachment 87864

Here's when I found out what a ball's up I'd made.....

A- The building had a hip roof, not a gable.

B- It was a one piece roof, not step down as shown here.

C- The outer stair case was a wooden affair not solid stone.

Apart from those three, I had got it summat like, yeh right......What a tos**r!