Airbrush nozzle 0,2 or 0,4 mm for a beginner ?

Michelnou

SMF Supporter
First Name
Michel
Hi guys,
I have bought an Harder Steenbeck airbrush which can work with 0,2 or 0,4 nozzle.
Knowing that I am an airbrushing beginner, which nozzle do you recommend to me for training and then, I hope, painting a white metal 1/43 car scale model which include both bodywork (about 120 mm) and smaller elements (some mm) ?

Thanks for advices
Michel

Reactions: JR

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
The nozzle you use will depend on two factors. Firstly the paint you're using and secondly the type of painting.
Generally the bigger the nozzle the wider the coverage and the thicker the paint which can be sprayed. The smaller nozzle will require thinner paint and you can work closer and spray more details. I find that the thicker paint/0.4 nozzle needs a higher pressure.

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Just to clarify. The larger nozzle will spray thicker paint but that does not mean the paint needs to be thicker. I thin the same regardless of the nozzle in use. The closer you work, the smaller the spray pattern and the lower the pressure you will need.

Andy T

SMF Supporter
First Name
Andy
I totally agree with Jim, but I'd add that if you are a beginner you may find starting with the larger nozzle better as it should more amenable to less than perfect thinning ratios. Finer nozzles can clog more easily so I'd suggest waiting until you have a better knowledge of that side.

Once you have used the larger nozzle for a while and feel like it is holding you back from finer detail, try the smaller size.

BarryW

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
The .2 nozzle can be more prone to clogging with model paint due to pigment size and thinning may not help much. The .4 needle will do you well. There are some model paints well suited to .2 such as MRP. My advice would be to use .4 until you have gained experience.

Dave Ward

Still Trying New Things
SMF Supporter
First Name
David