"Bare metal" Mig 23 Flogger - how to achieve?

M

munkster

I've posted about this before (but that was long before I was contemplating making a start) but would like to get some opinions on how I am going to paint my Mig 23 in "silver" (that's all Academy tell me in the instructions...)?

I'm still learning but picking up new techniques all the time; wondering if something like this...

Alclad 2 30ml Stainless Steel High Shine Finish Cellulose Lacquer # 115

...would be an appropriate route to go down rather than regular paint? I gather you apply it over a gloss base coat for best results? Or am I totally barking up the wrong tree for an authentic "silver" Soviet Mig?

As always, thanks in advance...

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
I brushed Humbrol metalcote on my test P-47D. Here is the link as to how it turned out. Looks not bad in the flesh and daylight

http://www.scale-models.co.uk/planes-helicopters/11140-1-72-revell-p-47d-thunderbolt.html

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony
Hi rob, if i recall correctly not a lot of soviet mig 23's were actually unpainted natural metal, alot of them were painted in a very light grey, which could be mistaken for nat metal in grainy b/w pics. If you did want to go with the silver then a lot of people swear by alclad.Ive never used it myself ,i usually use hycote aerosol aluminium ,it gives a lovely (if a little too uniform ,admittedly!) finish, especially when glossed with halfords clear acrylic. hope this helps cheers tony

M

munkster

Hmmm OK, thanks both. Was kinda looking forward to trying a metallic/silver finish but maybe it'll have to be light grey then if that's what colour they actually were!!

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
If its because you want to do a bare metal finish, what about one of the earlier Mig's? Quite a few of those had BMF.

Ian M

M

m1ks

There are a few options,