Enamel or Acrylic??

D

djselliott

Im just beginning to get into models so thought id sign up here, so hi all.

Im getting tools etc together before i get started but im trying to think what to do about paints. Got given a few random enamels to get started with but all are the wrong colours so im going to get new ones.

Am looking at Revell paints but cant decide whether to go for acrylic or enamel paints? Will mainly be car models and have got an airbrush just need to sort a compressor v soon.

What are main differences and what would you recommend?

Thanks,

Dom

B

Bunkerbarge

Hi Dom and a warm welcome to the forum.

There have actually been lots of discussions on here over the years on this very subject so I would suggest a good place to start is to go to the forum main page and use the search facility to have a look through some of them. You will find a lot of the threads are in this very board that you have posted your question so it is well worth spending some time to have a read through some of the previous discussions which may well help you make a decision.

As always there is no easy answer and at the end of the day most of use use a combination of both paint types so a good start is developing an understanding of what paint type suits what application best. For instance i would use enamel for a car body for it's covering capability and it's high gloss finish but use acrylics for the engine and details.

Have a look around though and I'm sure more specific questions will then come to light.

Here's just one of them:

http://www.scale-models.co.uk/painting/11224-paint.html

This very board is a wealth of paint information already so there is a lot of very useful guidance to hand here.

D

djselliott

brilliant cheers for quick reply, i had trawled through the last 6 pages or so and had a read of that one aswell, didnt think of searching

i think im just going to go for a whole load of enamels at first and see how i get on.