Help with new camera

R

roconnell

Hi folks, firstly Happy New Year to you all!

I know this is not model related but thought this may be the best place to start to get an answer to my question.

We have recently purchased a Panasonic DMC-LZ20 and quite honestly its making me and the wife pull our hair out with our old point and shoot being the one that could take better pictures.

The problem we are having is that when taking photos in intelligent auto images are often blurred. Have taken scenic pictures and ones of models without problems but when its moving (even slightly) such as the children then this is when we have the problem, even tried the sport setting which does not seem to be much better?

Now I'm not a photographic expert just a point and shoot guy :smiling3: but I do know our basic old camera did certainly capture pictures of the kids opening Christmas presents without being all blurry, unlike this one :sad:

Have looked at the manual but this does seem very limited.

Have tried with both flash on but this does not always seems to be the answer either.

Perhaps someone on here could advise?

Thanks

Rich

john

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
First Name
John
Does it have a stabilisation option? My lenses have anti-shake and so does the camera, also if your pics are blurred it could be the film speed too slow for the conditions, try different iso speeds

S

Scuff

If you post an example with the EXIF data included, I am sure we could advise of the problems that you are experiencing.

R

roconnell

Here are a couple of examples, nipper is not the fastest of movers and as far as we are aware the image stabilizer was on with both as in intelligent auto mode with one image and portrait mode in the other.

Image 1 Lighting was via x 3 60w bulbs and the other natural light.

Similar images are with parts blurred such as limbs etc with face sharp and wondering if this is the auto focusing which cannot deal with movement?