Introductory airbrushing

A

AVB99

Hello does anyone know of a good book about airbrushing please? I have been airbrushing for about three months but it's a pain - I never seem to get it right. So many basic questions - how thin to make threpaint, what primer to use and why - how close to hold the airbrush from the work etc.

Thanks

Aidan

S

sprayman

The best way to airbrush is good old fashioned practice, use paper or old models to spray with, Not a very concise or informative answer but its like learning to drive, cant be done from a book. But Im sure the good guys here will give you as many tips as you need to get you going. I can offer you some tips on what I use, but you will find the folks here may do it different to me:

Tamiya paint 50:50 mix ( consistancy of semi skimmed milk)

18 psi

6 inches or so from the model ( light passes, try not to place the paint in one blast )

Point your airbrush away when you release the paint and head towards your model

I dont prime to heavy, I like to see a faint trace of the plastic under the primer.

quick rule of thumb when airbrushing, air first,air last.

Last edited:
F

Fenlander

I think the best resource you have is the internet. Youtube has many videos on how people do their airbrushing. However, you have to remember that no matter what source you use, it is an opinion and not everyone works the same way.

When I started airbrushing, I believed it was an exact science. Since I have realised that it isn't, I have relaxed and got on with it without too many disasters. When I say it is not an exact science, I refer to my experience and my own findings. I use acrylic paint 99% of the time. Depending on the paint, Tamiya and Xtracrylix i tend to thin, using alcohol based thinners such as Xtracrylix own. I don't use Tamiya thinners as it is expensive and not always available in the UK. Water can certainly be used with Xtracrylix in much the same way but I personally prefer to use an alcohol based one.