Paint mixing

First Name
Bill
I am new to air brushing and am curious to know what you guys use as a container to mix paint in. I tried diluting it in the air brush pot with unsatisfactory results so assume it should be mixed first then poured in, hence the question.

Cheers Bill

Jack L

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jack
I am new to air brushing and am curious to know what you guys use as a container to mix paint in. I tried diluting it in the air brush pot with unsatisfactory results so assume it should be mixed first then poured in, hence the question.

Cheers Bill
I buy takeaway sauce pots from Amazon. £5 for 100 or something. Sealable lids so the mix lasts if spraying over time.

TIJAR® Sauce Containers with Lid... https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BPMKCWZ2?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

adt70hk

I know its a bit sad but I like quickbuild kits!!!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrew
Something similar to jack but I normally only mix enough for the job at hand.... Takes a while to get used to judging what you need though

davecov

SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave
I use plastic dropper bottles such as this which I have in three different sizes and use according to the amount needed for a build. I also use disposable pipettes for measuring my paint and thinners which I normally use in a 50-50 mix.

Dave

Panzerwrecker

SMF Supporter
First Name
Los
For just mixing, any clean, small plastic cup or pot will do but for saving mixes it will need a lid. I've used plenty of plastic pots with pop on lids for short term use but the paint mixes dry out over a short time. Tamiya sell empty jars which they brand as mixing jars which can be cleaned and used over and over. Pretty expensive compared to plastic alternatives but buying them in packs of six works out a little cheaper. As they are the same jars the paints come in they are great for keeping mixes long term.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272917046247